Social Club Thredbo Trip 1970

by Robert Brand

1971 Social and Sports Club Head OfficeI was on Field Training in July 1970 in Head Office in Martin Place and I was approached to join a Ski Trip to Thredbo with the OTC Social and Sports club. I had never been skiing before and I was assured that there were a lot of girls going. Well, I just had to join the trip. I had never tried skiing before and that was my only reason for going – not.

The bus did not have a toilet in those days and stops were always annoying. I remember that we stopped at the park in the centre of town (and toilets) in Goulburn NSW and it was time to stretch our legs. Dinner was at Canberra, so someone organised a race around the park in Goulburn piggy back style to ward off the hunger pains.1971 Social and Sports Club Head Office

Social and Sports Club, Head Office 1971

1971 Social and Sports Club Thredbo Trip Running around Golburn

Impromptu race around Goulburn Park

1971 Social and Sports Club Thredbo Trip The Bus Trip

The bus ride to Thredbo

1971 Social and Sports Club Thredbo Trip Robert Skiing

I did learn to ski – a bit. I would not call it a graceful picture, but it was the start of lots of trips to the snow with my OTC friends over about 30 years!

There are some more photos of this trip. I will post again when I find them.

Leave a Reply

