Apollo 11 Tour 1969

Collins Armstrong and Aldrin pass by wavingNovember 1st 1969 Sydney Australia

by Robert Brand

I just came across these photos from the Apollo 11 crew that toured Sydney following the moon landing. I think that they were taken on a Kodak Box Brownie that I just happened to have. I remember that I was not planning on taking photos and then just decided it was too historic.

I was 17 and I, along with many others, wired up some of the Apollo 11 comms gear at OTC Paddington in Sydney. The tour had a special significance because of the little bit of work that we all did at Paddo. I had to take my place on a Sydney street along with everyone else to snap a few seconds on the Apollo 11 Astronauts driving by at a rather fast pace. I was on the Corner of King St and Elizabeth Street in the heart of Sydney.

The parade approachesThe parade approaches

The parade approaches

Security and the Press truck pass by

Security and the Press truck pass by

The Apollo 11 astronauts vehicle in clear sight

The Apollo 11 astronauts vehicle in clear sight

The vehicle with the Apollo 11 astronaut nears

The vehicle with the Apollo 11 astronaut nears

Collins Armstrong and Aldrin pass by waving

Collins Armstrong and Aldrin pass by waving

Aldrin looking back, waving

Aldrin looking back, waving

The Apollo 11 wives

The Apollo Wives

A Sydney newspaper the day before the visit

A Sydney newspaper the day before the visit.

3 thoughts on “Apollo 11 Tour 1969

  1. Pingback: Apollo 11 Tour 1969 | H.O.P.E.

Leave a Reply

